In Burrillville, few challengers emerge for state, Council & School Committee races


BURRILLVILLE – The list of five candidates who intend to run for four seats on the Burrillville Town Council in 2022 includes just one Democrat, with three Republican incumbents declaring their intent to seek reelection this November with Town Clerk Vicki Martin this week.

The town’s non-partisan School Committee race, meanwhile, may see two potential newcomers run against four current members hoping to retain their spots – and five seats up for grabs.

Town Council President Don Fox, along with Councilors Dennis Anderson and Stephen Rawson, have all indicated that they intend to seek another four year term.

If all potential candidates complete the certification process, the three Republicans will face challenges from Democrat Stacey Slekis and Republican David Houle.

Councilor Amanda Gingell did not file papers this week seeking reelection to the seven-member board, while Democrat Jeremy Bailey, and Republican Councilors Justin Batalon and Raymond Trinque, all have two years remaining in their four-year terms.

School Committee members Terri Lacey, Donison Allen and Silvia St. Pierre will also seek reelection in 2022, while Jill Calapai, who was appointed in November to fill a vacancy left by the resignation of Dot Cardon, will now look to voters to determine if she will continue serving the district.

Michael Puyana and David Landry also registered their intent to run for seats on the seven-member School Committee.

Martin noted that the top four vote-getters in the committee race will serve four year terms, and the next highest vote getter will serve the remainder of Cardon’s two year term.

On that board, Chairperson Alexandra LeClair won’t seek reelection in 2022, leaving just six candidates for the five potential seats. Members Victor Bevilacqua and Sean Bouzan secured four-year terms in the 2020 election cycle.

For state races, Rep. David Place, a Republican, is on track face a challenge in District 47 in November from Paul Roselli, a Democrat. Other contests for seats representing Burrillville include a District 48 race, with Republican incumbent Rep. Brian Newberry seeking reelection against Democrat Paul Jones and independent James Aubin.

Sen. Jessica de la Cruz, who initially considered a run for the 2nd Congressional District seat held by retiring Rep.Jim Langevin, will instead run unopposed for a third term in District 23.

With the deadline to register candidacy now passed, it appears Burrillville will not need to hold a primary for municipal spots in 2022, leaving only statewide and federal races on the ballot in September.

The General Election, which is also expected to include questions regarding potential changes to the Town Charter, will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 8.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every week.

We don’t spam!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here