New councilors take their seats

Elected officials sworn in Wednesday night

Councilors Dennis Anderson and Amanda Gingell

BURRILLVILLE – Newly elected members of the Town Council and School Committee took the oath of office Wednesday night, and appointed the leaders, liaisons and legal counsel that will serve the town for the upcoming term.

Residents packed in to the town building to witness the installation of town officials, who were sworn in by Burrillville Police Col. Stephen Lynch. The council welcomed new members Amanda Gingell and Dennis Anderson, while incumbent Councilors Stephen Rawson and Donald Fox took the oath for another term.

Councilor John Pacheco was unanimously nominated for another term as president of the board, with Rawson to again serve as his vice president.

“Welcome Dennis and Amanda. I’m pretty excited,” said Pacheco. “It’s going to be a really good council.”

Councilors Dennis Anderson and Amanda Gingell

On the School Committee, incumbents Silvia St. Pierre, Alexandra LeClair and Donison Allen were officially joined by newcomers Terri Lacey and Sean Bouzan.

Legal representation for the town was also chosen at the brief 22-minute special meeting held Wednesday, Nov. 28. Solicitor William Dimitri was reappointed to his role, with attorneys Amy Veri and Robert Mitson to serve as assistant solicitors.

Dimitri’s son, Andrew Dimitri, was also initially nominated for the assistant solicitor job, but the solicitor advised against the proposed appointment.

“I did seek an advisory opinion from the Ethics Commission as to avoid any issues,” he told the council.

While the ethics board has not issued a formal opinion, the attorney said he was told that the appointment of his son as assistant solicitor would be a violation of ethical rules, because Andrew would fall under his supervision.

Instead, Andrew was added to the list of those who will serve as “special legal counsel” for the town of Burrillville, which also includes Leah Donaldson, Jeffrey Kastle and Michael McElroy.

Councilor Jeremy Bailey was not present for the Wednesday night meeting.

Councilors Amanda Gingell and Donald Fox take the oath of office

Additional appointments to legal offices, as well as liaisons for boards and commissions, were determined as follows:

Judge of Probate: Timothy Kane

Judge for the Municipal Court: Kimberly Brissette Brown

Associate Judge: Kevin Heitke


Ordinance Subcommittee: Gingell, Rawson, and Councilor Raymond Trinque, with Bailey to serve as alternate

Screening Subcommittee: Fox, Bailey and Anderson, with Rawson to serve as alternate

Administrative Audit Committee: Anderson and Gingell

BPAC: Bailey

Burrillville Extended Care: Gingell

Downtown Pascoag Neighborhood Association: Trinque

Housing Authority: Bailey

Industrial Foundation: Fox  

Planning Board liaison: Anderson

Redevelopment agency: Anderson

Recreation Committee: Trinque

Rubbish and Recycling Committee: Gingell 

School Committee: Fox 

Sewer Commission: Trinque

Zoning Board: Bailey

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every week.

We don’t spam!

Leave a Reply