Know your candidates: Burrillville voters prepare to head to the polls


BURRILLVILLE – On Tuesday, Nov. 6, Burrillville residents will join voters across the state, casting ballots for a governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, attorney general, treasurer, and a senator and representative in Congress.

Town voters will also choose a senator and representative for the General Assembly, and will have the chance to pick who they want to sit on the Town Council and the School Committee for the next four years.

On the council, three incumbents have been campaigning to defend their seats against eight outside candidates who hope to serve the town. Republican Councilor David Place is not seeking re-election, and is instead challenging Rep. Cale Keable for his District 47 seat.

That leaves 11 candidates for just four open spots on the council, guaranteeing that just a minority of those running will be celebrating victory Tuesday night.

The contest is less challenging on the School Committee, where six candidates are running for four open spots, and the person who brings in the fifth highest number of votes will fill the vacancy left by the resignation of member John Michael Karmozyn.

The race to fill Sen. Paul Fogarty’s seat features a contest between Burrillville Democrat Kevin Heitke and North Smithfield Republican Jessica de la Cruz.

Voters in Precinct 306, meanwhile, are part of District 48, where Rep. Brian Newberry is running unopposed, and will see a slightly different ballot.

Polls open at 7 a.m. tomorrow and will remain open until 8 p.m. Voters must present a photo id, and a list of acceptable identifications can be found here.

Polling places are as follows:

Voting District 301 – Steere Farm Elementary School

Voting District 302 – Beckwith-Bruckshaw Memorial Lodge

Voting District 303 – Burrillville High School

Voting District 304 – Callahan Elementary School

Voting District 305 – Burrillville Police Station

Voting District 306 – Burrillville Middle School

Those unsure of their polling place can find it here or call the Town Clerk’s office at 568-4300, Ext. 2.

NRI NOW put out the opportunity for local candidates to contact us to discuss their platform and background, any many took us up on it. Follow the links below to learn more about your local candidates, and visit the page Tuesday night for town wide results.

Town Council

Dennis Anderson – Republican

Justin Batalon – Republican

Scott Anthony Cardon – Democrat

*Donald Fox – Republican

Amanda Gingell – Democrat

Michael Lamoureux – Democrat

Cynthia Lussier – Democrat

*Stephen Rawson – Republican

*John Anthony Scott – Independent

Mark St Pierre – Independent

Matthew Zanni –Independent


School Committee

*Donison Allen

Victor Bevilacqua

Sean Bouzan

Terri Lacey

*Alexandra Leclair

*Silvia St. Pierre


Representative, District 47

*Cale Keable

David Place


Senator, District 23

Jessica de la Cruz

Kevin Heitke


*denotes incumbent

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every week.

We don’t spam!

Leave a Reply