Woods ends campaign for Council, but his name will be on the ballot


BURRILLVILLE – A vocal opponent of the proposed Clean River Energy power plant and member of the town’s Planning Board has declared that due to personal reasons, he will not be running for a seat on the Town Council.

The change technically reduces the number of Republicans seeking a seat on the board from five to four, just below the amount that triggers a primary to narrow down the field of candidates. But Woods missed the deadline for registering his withdrawal with the Board of Canvassers in time to remove his name from the ballot.

As a result, Burrillville residents who vote in the Republican primary election on Wednesday, Sept. 12 will see Woods name beside the other four council hopefuls: incumbent Councilors Donald Fox and Stephen Rawson, along with Dennis Anderson and Justin Batalon.

According to Town Clerk Louise Phaneuf, if Woods were to still be among the top four vote-getters in five-way the contest, the Republican Town Committee would either have to quickly register the alternative fourth Republican candidate with the Burrillville Board of Canvassers, or leave just the three remaining names on the ballot for the November General Election.

“What the law says is that vacancies on the ballot must be filled by September 17,” said Town Clerk Louise Phaneuf.

Both Democratic and Republican town voters will get to choose members from their party for the Senate District 23 seat representing Glocester, Burrillville and a portion of North Smithfield.

The seat has been held for the past two decades by Sen. Paul Fogarty, who is retiring. Democrats running for the seat include Paul Roselli, president of the Burrillville Land Trust, and former Burrillville Town Councilor and Municipal Court Judge Kevin Heitke. On the Republican side, Town Council President John Pacheco will face North Smithfield resident Jessica Delacruz.

Voters will also choose candidates for the gubernatorial seat, senator in Congress and lieutenant governor.

Polling locations in Burrillville will be as follows:

0301 Steere Farm Elementary School
0302 Beckwith Bruckshaw Memorial Lodge
0303 Burrillville High School
0304 W.L. Callahan Elementary School
0305 Burrillville Police Station
0306 Burrillville Middle School

All polling locations will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.



Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every week.

We don’t spam!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here