North Smithfield Republican Committee elects officers


NORTH SMITHFIELD – The North Smithfield Republican Committee has elected its officers, with David de la Cruz to serve as chairman, Brad Trenchard as vice chairman, Sheila Clarkin as treasurer and Michael Marston as secretary.

The committee will also have the support of Senate Minority Leader Jessica de la Cruz and Representative Brian Newberry as honorary members.

de la Cruz, a pastor and former history and civics teacher, currently serves on the North Smithfield Budget Committee.

In a release from NSRC, de le Cruz emphasized the importance of civic engagement in promoting Republican values, stating, “Civic engagement is at the core of my belief system.”

Trenchard cited engagement with the community as his top priority, and Clarkin, said she will bring her experience in community organizing and local politics to the committee’s efforts. Marston has been involved in numerous town activities over the years, currently serves on the North Smithfield Zoning Board, and echoed the need for more conservative voices at the local level.

The group noted that de la Cruz and Newberry are both strong advocates for conservative principles and values, and that Newberry is the the longest-serving Republican legislator in Rhode Island.

“The North Smithfield Republican Town Committee is focused on promoting Republican values in the community, including fiscal responsibility, limited government, and individual liberty, while supporting Republican candidates for office,” the NSRC noted. “With a dedicated group of leaders and honorary members, the committee is poised to make a positive impact in the North Smithfield community.”  

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every week.

We don’t spam!

Leave a Reply