Place, Newberry & de la Cruz named to redistricting committee


PROVIDENCE – Three Republicans from northern Rhode Island are among the 12 lawmakers named to a committee expected to redraw Rhode Island’s political boundaries in the upcoming months.

Reps. Brian Newberry and David Place, and Sen. Jessica de la Cruz were appointed to the Special Commission on Reapportionment by General Assembly leadership this week, for a redistricting process set to begin with hearings this fall.

The committee – which also includes six members of the public – will look at the borders of for all 113 House and Senate seats, using data from last year’s census to determine which areas need more or less representation.

The group is expected to make a final recommendation by January 15.

Newberry, who currently represents District 48, covering all of North Smithfield and part of Burrillville; and Place, who has represented District 47 in Burrillville and Glocester since 2018 were tapped by House Speaker Joe Shekarchi, a Democrat.

de la Cruz, the current Senate minority Whip, represents District 23 in Burrillville, Glocester and North Smithfield since 2018, was appointed by Democratic leadership in her respective chamber, Senate President Dominick Ruggerio.

The process is likely to change the district boundaries in northern Rhode Island in the lead up to the 2022 election, shaping the political landscape for the next decade.

The commission list announced this week also includes:

  • Rep. Arthur Corvese, D-North Providence
  • Rep. Grace Diaz, D-Providence
  • Rep. Katherine Kazarian, D-East Providence
  • Rep. Robert Phillips, D-Woonsocket
  • State Sen. Stephen Archambault, D-Smithfield
  • State Sen. Walter Felag Jr., D-Warren
  • State Sen. Ana Quezada, D-Providence
  • State Sen. V. Susan Sosnowski, D-South Kingstown
  • State Sen. Gordon Rogers, R-Foster
  • Antonio Lopes, CEO of TILT Communications
  • Kaprece Ransaw, a real estate agent
  • Former state Rep. Stephen Ucci
  • Maria Bucci, former Cranston City Council member
  • Alvin Reyes, an official at the IBEW Local 99 union
  • Former state Sen. Harold Metts.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here