Burrillville officers, department to receive Highway Safety awards

Patrolman Bret Simas

BURRILLVILLE – Three members of the Burrillville Police Department will be receiving awards from the Rhode Island Office of Highway Safety in a ceremony scheduled to take place next week.

The department itself is also expected to be recognized at the event, held annually to recognize those who make a significant difference in the community they serve through traffic safety activities, ultimately reducing injuries, saving lives and detecting and deterring crime.

Sgt. Ryan Hughes, Patrolman Wayne Richardson and Patrolman Bret Simas will be named Highway Champions for 2019, at a ceremony scheduled to take place on Wednesday, Aug. 7 at Roger Williams University.

Patrolman Wayne Richardson

The Highway Safety Champion Award is a traffic award program that focuses on three major highway safety priorities: occupant protection, impaired driving and speed management.

“We’re pretty proud to have three officers receiving the award,” said Col. Stephen Lynch. 

Sgt. Ryan Hughes

A departmental award will also recognize BPD’s overall effort to address issues such as distracted driving and drunk driving.

“We engage with the OHS as much as possible,” said Lynch.  

The department has received recognition for highway safety efforts for several years running.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every week.

We don’t spam!

Leave a Reply