Town will hold September primary for Republican council candidates


BURRILLVILLE – Twelve Town Council candidates turned in nomination papers with the required number of signatures on Monday, July 16, and a primary will need to be held in September to narrow down which names will appear on the November ballot.

But only Republican council hopefuls will be subject to the primary process, which will slim the list from five to four names. Mark St. Pierre, who is registered to vote as a Democrat, will run as an independent, ensuring that he moves on to the General Election.

St. Pierre is the former chief of the Harrisville Fire District and is married to School Committee member Silvia St. Pierre, who is seeking reelection.

The Democratic Town Committee endorsed the four remaining candidates for council in the party: Michael Lamoureaux, Amanda Gingell, Cynthia Lussier and Scott Anthony Cardon. The four will be holding a “Meet the Candidates” event on Thursday, July 26 at the Townsmen Club.

St. Pierre is one of three candidates who will run as independents. Incumbent Councilor John Anthony Scott and newcomer Matthew Zanni also turned in signed nomination papers.

Republicans hoping to serve a four year term on the council include incumbent Councilors Donald Fox and Stephen Rawson, along with Robert Woods, Dennis Anderson and Justin Batalon. Councilor David Place will not seek another term on the board, instead running for the District 47 seat in the House of Representatives.

It looks like town voters will also get the chance to choose members from both parties in a primary for the Senate District 23 seat representing Glocester, Burrillville and a portion of North Smithfield. The seat has been held for the past two decades by Sen. Paul Fogarty, who is retiring.

Democrat Paul Roselli, president of the Burrillville Land Trust will run for the seat as a progressive Democrat, and former Burrillville Town Councilor and Municipal Court Judge Kevin Heitke will run with endorsement of the Burrillville Town Committee.

On the Republican side, Town Council President John Pacheco will face North Smithfield resident Jessica Delacruz. If Pacheco ultimately wins the seat in the general election November 6, he will have to resign from his council seat, and the fifth highest vote getter from the Town Council contest will be moved into the spot.

As of Tuesday afternoon, all four candidates had submitted signed nomination papers to run for District 23, but the number of signatures on the forms were still being verified.

On the non-partisan town School Committee, Silvia St. Pierre was among just six candidates who returned papers to run for four seats, so a primary will not be required. Member Joshua Tessier has opted not to seek reelection and Darcy Bouchard, who originally planned to run for the board, never picked up her nomination papers.

Town officials were still counting signatures for School Committee candidates as of Tuesday afternoon, but had verified that all 12 council hopefuls had submitted the required minimum of 50.

The primary, which is usually held on a Tuesday, will be held on Wednesday, September 12 this year to account for Rosh Hashanah, which falls on the normal primary day.

Below is a full list of local candidates.

CYNTHIA J LUSSIER – Town Council, Democrat
JOHN ANTHONY SCOTT – Town Council, Independent
MATTHEW J ZANNI – Town Council, Independent
SCOTT ANTHONY CARDON – Town Council, Democrat
DONALD A FOX – Town Council, Republican
AMANDA K GINGELL – Town Council, Democrat
MARK A ST PIERRE – Town Council, Independent
ROBERT J WOODS – Town Council, Republican
DENNIS M ANDERSON – Town Council, Republican
MICHAEL R LAMOUREUX – Town Council, Democrat
STEPHEN N RAWSON – Town Council, Republican
JUSTIN P BATALON – Town Council, Republican
SEAN M BOUZAN – School Committee

SILVIA A STPIERRE – School Committee
TERRI A LACEY – School Committee
DONISON L ALLEN – School Committee
ALEXANDRA LECLAIR – School Committee

JESSICA DELACRUZ – Senate District 23, Republican
KEVIN D HEITKE – Senate District 23, Democrat
JOHN F PACHECO III – Senate District 23, Republican
PAUL A ROSELLI –  Senate District 23, Democrat

RUSSELL H JENNINGS – District 47 Representative, Democrat
CALE P KEABLE – District 47 Representative, Democrat
DAVID J PLACE – District 47 Representative, Republican

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every week.

We don’t spam!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here